GWM Poer GWM Cannon: range, price, specs and where it is sold
Facts checked
The GWM Cannon is the export name for the Great Wall Poer (长城炮), a ladder-frame pickup on the P71 platform that GWM has built at Baoding since 2019. The standard double-cab is 5,410 mm long on a 3,230 mm wheelbase with a 1,520 mm bed. GWM Australia sold it as the GWM Ute from October 2020 and adopted the Cannon name with the 2025 facelift.
The Australian range is diesel: a 2.0-litre of about 120 kW in the Premium trims and a 2.4-litre of 135 kW and 480 Nm with a nine-speed automatic in the rest, from A$34,490 driveaway for the Premium single cab chassis. The larger Cannon Alpha — sold in China as the Shanhai Pao (山海炮) and in South Africa as the GWM P500 — shares the Tank 500's chassis, is 5,440 mm long on a 3,350 mm wheelbase, and is offered with a 3.0-litre turbodiesel of 170 kW or a Hi4-T plug-in hybrid of 300 kW with a 37.1 kWh usable battery, 3,500 kg braked towing and up to 115 km of electric-only running, for which GWM Australia does not name a test cycle.
GWM Australia states a five-star ANCAP rating for the Cannon that excludes the XSR and cab-chassis versions. Because the year is not given on the model page and the ANCAP result could not be read directly, no NCAP record is carried here.
Key facts
| Name in Chinese | 长城炮 “chahng-CHUNG POW” 长城 Chángchéng = 'Great Wall', the parent company's name; 炮 pào = 'cannon' or 'gun'. |
|---|---|
| Brand | GWM Poer |
| Body | Pickup, segment commercial |
| Powertrain | Offered with more than one powertrain |
| Launched | China 2019; export 2020 |
| Platform | P71 (shared with the Haval H9) |
| Headline output | 135 kW |
| Battery | 37.1 kWh |
| Dimensions | 5,410 × 1,934 × 1,886 mm, wheelbase 3,230 mm |
What it is called where
The same car carries different names in different markets. This is the crosswalk, so a reader who knows one name can find the other.
| Market | Name | Note |
|---|---|---|
| China | Great Wall Poer / Pao (长城炮) | |
| China | Great Wall Shanhai Pao (山海炮) | the larger truck exported as the Cannon Alpha |
| Australia | GWM Cannon | sold as the GWM Ute from 2020 until the 2025 facelift |
| Australia | GWM Cannon Alpha | the larger Shanhai Pao |
| New Zealand | GWM Cannon | previously GWM Ute |
| South Africa | GWM P-Series | the Cannon Alpha is sold as the GWM P500 |
| Thailand | GWM Poer Sahar | |
| Malaysia | GWM Poer P11 / P12 | |
| Brazil | GWM Poer P30 | assembled at Iracemápolis |
| Brunei | GWM Poer Ruman / Poer Sucan |
Range
| Range | Cycle | Variant |
|---|---|---|
| 115 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) | manufacturer figure, cycle not stated | Cannon Alpha Hi4-T plug-in hybrid, 37.1 kWh usable — GWM Australia does not name a test cycle |
Price
| Where | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Australia, Cannon Premium single cab chassis, driveaway (includes a A$2,000 offer) | AUD 34,490 as of | |
| Australia, Cannon Alpha Lux diesel, driveaway | AUD 58,990 as of |
Where the GWM Cannon is sold
| Market | Status | Since | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| China | Sold | 2019 | |
| Australia | Sold | October 2020 | as the GWM Ute until 2025, then the GWM Cannon |
| New Zealand | Sold | ||
| South Africa | Sold | as the GWM P-Series and P500 | |
| Thailand | Sold | ||
| Malaysia | Sold | ||
| Brazil | Sold | ||
| Brunei | Sold | ||
| United States | Never sold | GWM does not sell vehicles in the United States; imported Chinese light trucks also face a 25 per cent tariff there. |
Crash-test results
No NCAP result is recorded for the GWM Cannon. That means no published result was found on a testing body's own site — not that the car was tested and failed, and not that it was never tested.
GWM Poer GWM Cannon: questions people ask
- Is the GWM Cannon the same as the GWM Ute?
- Yes. GWM Australia sold the truck as the GWM Ute from October 2020 and renamed it the GWM Cannon with the 2025 facelift, matching the name used elsewhere.
- What is the GWM Cannon called in China?
- The Great Wall Poer or Pao (长城炮), literally 'Great Wall cannon'. The bigger Cannon Alpha is the Shanhai Pao (山海炮).
- Is there a plug-in hybrid GWM ute?
- Yes — the Cannon Alpha Hi4-T, with a 37.1 kWh usable battery, 300 kW, 3,500 kg braked towing and up to 115 km of electric-only running. GWM Australia does not state which test cycle that figure comes from.
- What is the GWM Cannon called in South Africa?
- The GWM P-Series, with the Cannon Alpha sold there as the GWM P500.
- Is the GWM Cannon sold in the United States?
- No. GWM does not sell vehicles in the United States, where imported light trucks also face a 25 per cent tariff.
Related
Sources for the GWM Poer GWM Cannon
- GWM Australia & New Zealand, GWM Cannon. Read . variants, 2.4 diesel 135 kW/480 Nm, five-star ANCAP excluding XSR and cab chassis, A$34,490 driveaway
- GWM Australia & New Zealand, GWM Cannon Alpha. Read . 3.0 diesel 170 kW/620 Nm, Hi4-T 300 kW, 37.1 kWh usable, up to 115 km electric, A$58,990 driveaway
- Great Wall Motor, 长城汽车官网 — brands and models. Read . 长城炮 line: 山海炮, 乘用炮, 商用炮, 越野炮, 金刚炮
- Wikipedia, GWM Poer. Read . P71 platform, dimensions, market names, Australian launch October 2020 and 2025 renaming
- Wikipedia, GWM Cannon Alpha. Read . Shanhai Pao Chinese name, Tank 500 chassis, dimensions, powertrains, P500 and Poer Sahar naming