Haval H6: range, price, specs and where it is sold
Facts checked
The H6 is GWM's core model — the car that made Haval a brand — and has been in production since 2011. The third generation, launched in 2020 on the L.E.M.O.N. B30 platform, is 4,653 mm long on a 2,738 mm wheelbase; a fastback version called the H6 GT followed in 2021.
GWM Australia sells eight variants across three powertrains: a 2.0-litre turbo petrol, a 1.5-litre HEV self-charging hybrid with a 1.6 kWh battery, and a 1.5-litre PHEV plug-in hybrid, with outputs from 170 kW to 268 kW and torque from 320 to 760 Nm. GWM quotes 'up to 106 km' of electric-only running for the H6 PHEV and 183 km for the H6 GT PHEV but does not name a test cycle on either model page, so both figures are recorded here as manufacturer claims.
GWM's Chinese site lists a wide H6 family, including a longer H6L from 117,900 yuan, but did not publish a base H6 price at the time of checking. Australian driveaway prices started at A$35,990 for the H6 Lux petrol and A$44,490 for the H6 GT Ultra. GWM Australia states a five-star ANCAP rating for the H6 without giving the year, and no ANCAP record is carried here.
Key facts
| Name in Chinese | 哈弗H6 “HAH-foo aitch-six” 哈弗 Hāfú has no literal meaning; it is the Chinese transliteration of Haval. H6 is a series code, H for the SUV line. |
|---|---|
| Brand | Haval |
| Body | SUV, segment C |
| Powertrain | Offered with more than one powertrain |
| Launched | China 2011 |
| Platform | L.E.M.O.N. (B30) |
| Headline output | 268 kW |
| Battery | 1.6 kWh |
| Dimensions | 4,653 × 1,886 × 1,730 mm, wheelbase 2,738 mm |
What it is called where
The same car carries different names in different markets. This is the crosswalk, so a reader who knows one name can find the other.
| Market | Name | Note |
|---|---|---|
| China | Haval H6 | the range also includes the longer H6L |
| Australia | GWM Haval H6 | the fastback version is the H6 GT |
| South Africa | Haval H6 | |
| Russia | Haval H6 | |
| Mexico | Haval H6 | |
| Thailand | Haval H6 | |
| Malaysia | Haval H6 | |
| Indonesia | Haval H6 | |
| Brazil | Haval H6 | |
| Philippines | Haval H6 | |
| Iran | Cheval 6 |
Range
| Range | Cycle | Variant |
|---|---|---|
| 106 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) | manufacturer figure, cycle not stated | H6 PHEV electric-only, GWM Australia claim — no test cycle named |
| 183 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) | manufacturer figure, cycle not stated | H6 GT PHEV electric-only, GWM Australia claim — no test cycle named |
Price
| Where | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Australia, H6 Lux petrol, driveaway | AUD 35,990 as of | |
| Australia, H6 GT Ultra petrol, driveaway | AUD 44,490 as of |
Where the H6 is sold
| Market | Status | Since | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| China | Sold | 2011 | |
| Australia | Sold | ||
| South Africa | Sold | ||
| Russia | Sold | ||
| Mexico | Sold | ||
| Thailand | Sold | ||
| Malaysia | Sold | ||
| Indonesia | Sold | ||
| Brazil | Sold | ||
| Philippines | Sold | ||
| United States | Never sold | GWM does not sell passenger cars in the United States. |
Crash-test results
No NCAP result is recorded for the H6. That means no published result was found on a testing body's own site — not that the car was tested and failed, and not that it was never tested.
Haval H6: questions people ask
- Is the Haval H6 a plug-in hybrid?
- It is available as one. GWM Australia sells the H6 as a 2.0-litre turbo petrol, an HEV self-charging hybrid, and a PHEV plug-in hybrid quoted at up to 106 km of electric running — though GWM does not name the test cycle.
- What is the difference between the Haval H6 and the H6 GT?
- The GT is the fastback-roofed version of the same car, launched in 2021. GWM Australia quotes 321 kW and 642 Nm for the H6 GT plug-in hybrid.
- How long has the Haval H6 been made?
- Since 2011. The current third generation, on GWM's L.E.M.O.N. platform, arrived in 2020.
- What does Haval mean?
- Nothing in Chinese — 哈弗 Hāfú is a transliteration of the coined English word Haval. The H in H6 marks GWM's SUV series.
Related
Sources for the Haval H6
- GWM Australia & New Zealand, Haval H6. Read . eight variants, 170–268 kW, 106 km PHEV electric range claim, A$35,990 driveaway, five-star ANCAP claim
- GWM Australia & New Zealand, Haval H6 GT. Read . 321 kW PHEV, 183 km electric range claim, A$44,490 driveaway
- Great Wall Motor, 长城汽车官网 — brands and models. Read . Chinese H6 family including H6L
- Wikipedia, Haval H6. Read . third-generation dimensions, platform, engine outputs, hybrid battery size, Iranian Cheval 6 name