Chery Tiggo 9: range, price, specs and where it is sold
Facts checked
The Tiggo 9 is the largest SUV in Chery's own-brand range: 4,820 mm long on a 2,820 mm wheelbase, with three rows of seats. In China it is offered with a 2.0-litre turbocharged petrol engine of 195 kW driving through an eight-speed automatic, and as a plug-in hybrid sold under Chery's Fulwin sub-brand as the Fulwin T10.
Abroad the same vehicle is usually a Jaecoo. Chery exports it as the Jaecoo 8 in the UK and as the Jaecoo J8 in Australia, Malaysia and Indonesia, while Chery Australia also sells it under its own badge as the Tiggo 9 Super Hybrid. The plug-in hybrid pairs a 1.5-litre turbo petrol engine with a three-speed dedicated hybrid transmission for 315 kW and 580 Nm; Chery Australia offers a 19 kWh front-drive version rated at 90 km of electric running and a 34 kWh all-wheel-drive version rated at 170 km, both on the NEDC cycle, with 1,250 km combined.
Chery's China site listed the Tiggo 9 from 159,900 yuan on 4 September 2026. Chery Australia quotes driveaway prices by postcode rather than a single national figure, so no Australian price is recorded here. No Euro NCAP or ANCAP result for the Tiggo 9 was found on either body's site.
Key facts
| Name in Chinese | 奇瑞瑞虎9 “chee-RWAY rway-HOO nine” 瑞虎 Ruìhǔ = 'auspicious tiger'; 9 marks the top of the Tiggo range. |
|---|---|
| Brand | Chery |
| Body | SUV, segment D |
| Powertrain | Offered with more than one powertrain |
| Launched | China 2023; export 2024 |
| Platform | T1X |
| Headline output | 315 kW |
| Battery | 19 kWh or 34.46 kWh |
| Dimensions | 4,820 × 1,930 × 1,699 mm, wheelbase 2,820 mm |
What it is called where
The same car carries different names in different markets. This is the crosswalk, so a reader who knows one name can find the other.
| Market | Name | Note |
|---|---|---|
| China | Chery Tiggo 9 | |
| China | Chery Fulwin T10 (风云T10) | the plug-in hybrid version in China |
| Australia | Chery Tiggo 9 Super Hybrid | |
| Export markets | Jaecoo 8 / Jaecoo J8 | the same car wears the Jaecoo badge in the UK, Australia, Malaysia and Indonesia |
| Russia | Jeland J8 | |
| Malaysia | Jaecoo J8 | assembled at Shah Alam |
| Indonesia | Jaecoo J8 | assembled at Bekasi |
Range
| Range | Cycle | Variant |
|---|---|---|
| 90 km NEDC | NEDC | 19 kWh Elite FWD (Chery Australia) |
| 170 km NEDC | NEDC | 34 kWh Ultimate AWD (Chery Australia) |
| 210 km CLTC | CLTC | 34.46 kWh, Chinese Fulwin T10 |
| 1,250 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) | manufacturer figure, cycle not stated | combined, Ultimate AWD (Chery Australia) |
Price
| Where | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| China | CNY 159,900 as of | Tiggo 9 starting price listed on Chery's China site as 15.99万元 |
A Chinese sticker price is not what the same car costs abroad: tariffs, specification and local taxes all differ. The price translator converts it at a stored rate and says so.
Where the Tiggo 9 is sold
| Market | Status | Since | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| China | Sold | 2023 | |
| Australia | Sold | Chery Australia lists the Tiggo 9 Super Hybrid as available; launch date not confirmed from an official source | |
| Malaysia | Sold | July 2025 | as the Jaecoo J8 |
| Indonesia | Sold | as the Jaecoo J8 | |
| Russia | Sold | as the Jeland J8 | |
| United States | Never sold | Chery has never sold cars in the United States. |
Crash-test results
No NCAP result is recorded for the Tiggo 9. That means no published result was found on a testing body's own site — not that the car was tested and failed, and not that it was never tested.
Chery Tiggo 9: questions people ask
- Is the Chery Tiggo 9 the same car as the Jaecoo 8?
- Yes. The Chinese-market Tiggo 9 is exported under the Jaecoo badge as the Jaecoo 8 or J8; in Australia Chery sells both a Tiggo 9 Super Hybrid and a Jaecoo J8.
- How far does the Tiggo 9 Super Hybrid go on electricity?
- Chery Australia quotes 90 km for the 19 kWh front-drive version and 170 km for the 34 kWh all-wheel-drive version, both on the NEDC cycle.
- What is the Tiggo 9 plug-in hybrid called in China?
- Chery sells it as the Fulwin T10 (风云T10) under its Fulwin sub-brand, on a 34.46 kWh battery rated at 210 km CLTC.
- How much does the Chery Tiggo 9 cost in China?
- Chery's China site listed it from 159,900 yuan when checked on 4 September 2026.
Related
Sources for the Chery Tiggo 9
- Chery Motor Australia, Chery Tiggo 9 Super Hybrid. Read . 315 kW, 19 and 34 kWh packs, 90 and 170 km NEDC, seven seats
- Chery Automobile, 奇瑞汽车官网 — model line-up and prices. Read . Tiggo 9 from 15.99万元
- Wikipedia, Chery Tiggo 9. Read . dimensions, platform, Fulwin T10 and Jaecoo J8 crosswalk, CLTC range