星途瑶光Omoda Omoda 9

Omoda Omoda 9: range, price, specs and where it is sold

Facts checked

The Omoda 9 is the largest and most powerful car Chery sells under the Omoda badge, and the only one that is not a Chery or an Omoda at home. In China it is the Exeed Yaoguang, launched in February 2023 on the M3X platform Chery developed with Magna, and renamed Exeed EX6 in 2026.

The export car is a plug-in hybrid only. Omoda Jaecoo Australia quotes a 1.5-litre turbocharged engine with a dedicated hybrid transmission and three electric motors for 395 kW, a 34 kWh battery, 169 km of electric-only running on the NEDC cycle and about 1,100 km combined. The Chinese C-DM versions are offered with 19.43 kWh and 34.46 kWh packs.

Euro NCAP tested the Omoda 9 PHEV 'Premium' in 2025 and awarded five stars, with 90 per cent for adult occupant protection, 85 per cent for child occupants, 81 per cent for vulnerable road users and 80 per cent for safety assist. Sales began in Britain in April 2025 and in Australia on 21 July 2025. Neither Omoda's UK site nor its Australian price page returned a published starting price on 4 September 2026, so no export price is recorded here.

Key facts

Name in Chinese 星途瑶光 Xīngtú Yáoguāng “shing-TOO yao-GWAHNG” 星途 Xīngtú = 'star road', the Chinese name of Chery's Exeed brand; 瑶光 Yáoguāng = 'jade light', and is also the classical Chinese name for the star Alkaid at the tip of the Big Dipper's handle.
BrandOmoda
BodySUV, segment D
PowertrainPlug-in hybrid
Launched China 2023; export 2025
PlatformM3X
Headline output395 kW
Battery19.43 kWh or 34.46 kWh
Dimensions 4,781 × 1,920 × 1,671 mm, wheelbase 2,815 mm

What it is called where

The same car carries different names in different markets. This is the crosswalk, so a reader who knows one name can find the other.

Names the Omoda 9 carries.
Market Name Note
China Exeed Yaoguang (星途瑶光) renamed Exeed EX6 in 2026
United Kingdom Omoda 9
Australia Omoda 9 SHS-P
South Africa Omoda C9
Export markets Exeed RX some export markets keep the Exeed badge
Russia Omoda C9

Range

Published ranges for the Omoda 9.
Range Cycle Variant
169 km NEDC NEDC 34 kWh SHS-P (Omoda Jaecoo Australia)
1,100 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) manufacturer figure, cycle not stated combined, SHS-P (Omoda Jaecoo Australia)

Price

No price is published for this model in the data set.

Where the Omoda 9 is sold

Market status for the Omoda 9.
Market Status Since Note
China Sold February 2023 as the Exeed Yaoguang
United Kingdom Sold April 2025
Australia Sold 21 July 2025
South Africa Sold
Russia Sold
United States Never sold Chery has never sold cars in the United States.

Crash-test results

Quoted from the testing bodies. This site does not rate cars itself.

Published crash ratings for the Omoda 9.
Body Year Stars Result
Euro NCAP 2025 5 Read the Euro NCAP result

Omoda Omoda 9: questions people ask

What is the Omoda 9 called in China?
The Exeed Yaoguang (星途瑶光), renamed Exeed EX6 in 2026. Exeed is Chery's premium brand; the car only wears an Omoda badge for export.
Is the Omoda 9 a plug-in hybrid?
Yes. The export car is sold only as an SHS plug-in hybrid, with a 34 kWh battery and a quoted 169 km of electric-only range on the NEDC cycle.
How safe is the Omoda 9?
Euro NCAP gave the Omoda 9 PHEV five stars in 2025, with 90 per cent for adult occupant protection and 81 per cent for vulnerable road users.
Where is the Omoda 9 sold?
China (as an Exeed) since 2023, Britain since April 2025, Australia since July 2025, plus South Africa and Russia. It is not sold in the United States.

Related

Sources for the Omoda Omoda 9

  1. Omoda Jaecoo Australia, OMODA 9 SHS-P. Read . 395 kW, 34 kWh battery, 169 km NEDC, 1,100 km combined, five-star ANCAP claim
  2. Euro NCAP, OMODA 9 — 2025 safety rating. Read . five stars, OMODA 9 PHEV 'Premium' 4x4 LHD
  3. Wikipedia, Exeed Yaoguang. Read . Chinese identity and name, M3X platform, dimensions, battery options, UK and Australian launch dates