MG MG HS: range, price, specs and where it is sold
Facts checked
The HS is MG's C-segment SUV, one size above the ZS. The first generation was shown at the 2018 Beijing show as the production version of the MG X-Motion concept and reached Britain, Europe, Thailand and Australia in 2019, sharing engineering with the Roewe RX5. Its plug-in hybrid used a 16.6 kWh pack. A second generation was unveiled at the Goodwood Festival of Speed on 11 July 2024, 4,655 mm long on a 2,765 mm wheelbase and derived from the third-generation Roewe RX5.
The current car is offered three ways. A 1.5-litre turbo petrol makes 125 kW; the Hybrid+ pairs that engine with an electric motor and a 1.83 kWh pack for 165 kW; and the plug-in hybrid, which Australia sells as the Super Hybrid, uses a 24.7 kWh pack for 220 kW combined and an electric range MG Australia quotes as 135 km on the NEDC cycle. Second-generation plug-in figures published elsewhere are lower, at about 103 km, so the cycle matters when comparing.
Assembly runs from SAIC's Ningde plant in Fujian, from Laem Chabang in Thailand, from Lahore in Pakistan through MG JW Automobile, from Taoyuan in Taiwan and, for the second generation, from the Moskvitch plant in Moscow, where it is badged Moskvich M70. Euro NCAP tested the 1.5T second-generation HS in 2024 and gave five stars, with 90% for adult occupants, 85% for children, 83% for vulnerable road users and 74% for safety assist.
Key facts
| Name in Chinese | 名爵HS “MING-jweh H-S” 名爵 is MG's Chinese brand name — 名 'renown' plus 爵 'noble rank'; the facelifted first-generation car was sold in China as the MG 领航 (Lǐngháng, 'lead the way') |
|---|---|
| Brand | MG |
| Body | SUV, segment C |
| Powertrain | Offered with more than one powertrain |
| Launched | China 2018; export 2019 |
| Headline output | 220 kW |
| Battery | 1.83 kWh, 16.6 kWh or 24.7 kWh |
| Dimensions | 4,655 × 1,890 × 1,664 mm, wheelbase 2,765 mm |
What it is called where
The same car carries different names in different markets. This is the crosswalk, so a reader who knows one name can find the other.
| Market | Name | Note |
|---|---|---|
| China | MG HS / MG Linghang (领航) | |
| Export markets | MG HS | |
| United Kingdom | MG HS / HS Hybrid+ / HS Plug-in Hybrid | |
| Australia | MG HS / HS Hybrid+ / HS Super Hybrid | Super Hybrid is the Australian name for the plug-in hybrid |
| Thailand | MG HS PHEV | |
| Russia | Moskvich M70 | second generation, assembled in Moscow |
Range
| Range | Cycle | Variant |
|---|---|---|
| 135 km NEDC | NEDC | HS Super Hybrid plug-in, 24.7 kWh, as quoted by MG Australia |
| 103 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) | manufacturer figure, cycle not stated | second-generation HS PHEV, 24.7 kWh |
| 51 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) | manufacturer figure, cycle not stated | first-generation HS PHEV, 16.6 kWh |
Price
| Where | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Australia, MG HS Vibe petrol, drive-away; the Essence Super Hybrid is AUD 52,990 | AUD 34,990 as of | |
| Ireland, MG HS PHEV Excite, RRP including VAT; the HS HEV Exclusive is EUR 43,950 | EUR 40,995 as of | |
| Thailand, MG HS PHEV starting price | THB 1,299,000 as of |
Where the MG HS is sold
| Market | Status | Since | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| China | Withdrawn | launched in China in 2018 but not in MG's current Chinese range; the closely related car there is the Roewe RX5 | |
| United Kingdom | Sold | 2019 | |
| Germany | Sold | 2019 | |
| France | Sold | 2019 | |
| Spain | Sold | 2019 | |
| Italy | Sold | 2019 | |
| Australia | Sold | 2019 | |
| Thailand | Sold | 2019 | |
| Indonesia | Sold | 2020 | |
| Mexico | Sold | 2020 | |
| India | Never sold | not part of JSW MG Motor India's range | |
| United States | Never sold | MG does not sell cars in the United States |
Crash-test results
Quoted from the testing bodies. This site does not rate cars itself.
| Body | Year | Stars | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Euro NCAP | 2024 | 5 | Read the Euro NCAP result |
MG MG HS: questions people ask
- Where is the MG HS built?
- At SAIC's Ningde plant in Fujian, at Laem Chabang in Thailand, at Lahore in Pakistan, at Taoyuan in Taiwan and — for the second generation sold as the Moskvich M70 — at the Moskvitch plant in Moscow.
- How far does the MG HS plug-in hybrid go on electricity?
- MG Australia quotes 135 km on the NEDC cycle for the 24.7 kWh Super Hybrid. Figures published for the second-generation HS PHEV elsewhere are about 103 km; NEDC and WLTP numbers are not comparable.
- What is the MG HS called in China?
- It was sold there as the MG HS, and the facelifted first-generation car as the MG 领航 (Lǐngháng, 'LING-hahng', 'lead the way'). It is not in MG's current Chinese range; the closely related model there is the Roewe RX5.
- What is the MG HS's Euro NCAP rating?
- Five stars. Euro NCAP tested the 1.5T second-generation car in 2024 and scored it 90% adult occupant, 85% child occupant, 83% vulnerable road user and 74% safety assist.
Related
Sources for the MG MG HS
- MG Motor Australia, MG HS. Read . 125 kW petrol, 165 kW Hybrid+, 220 kW Super Hybrid with a 24.7 kWh pack and 135 km NEDC
- MG Motor Australia, Latest Offers — drive-away pricing. Read .
- MG Motor Europe / MG Ireland, MG Passenger & Commercial Range Price List, June 2026. Read .
- MG Sales (Thailand), MG Thailand model range and prices. Read .
- Euro NCAP, MG HS safety assessment. Read .
- Wikipedia, MG HS. Read . generations, plants, dimensions, PHEV battery sizes, market names and launch dates