Polestar Polestar 4: range, price, specs and where it is sold
Facts checked
The Polestar 4 is the brand's best-selling model, a compact executive crossover on Geely's SEA electric platform. The original body, now called the coupé, replaced the rear window with a roof-mounted camera feeding a digital rear-view mirror; a Polestar 4 SUV with a conventional rear window and mirror was launched on 2 September 2026 with 1,665 litres of luggage space and a starting price of EUR 57,900. Polestar quotes up to 385 miles (619 km) WLTP for the coupé in the UK, up to 310 miles (499 km) EPA in the US, and up to 400 kW.
The Polestar 4 has two sources. Polestar's 2025 annual report records production at Geely's Hangzhou Bay plant in China since the second half of 2023, and at Renault Korea Motors' plant in Busan, South Korea since the second half of 2025 - Renault Korea is 35 per cent owned by Geely. The Busan cars are dedicated to Europe, the United States and the domestic South Korean market, and Polestar has said explicitly that Busan-built cars attract a lower US tariff than Chinese-built ones. The Polestar 4 SUV is built only in Busan; Polestar's chief executive confirmed on 2 September 2026 that production there had started.
Euro NCAP and ANCAP both gave the Polestar 4 five stars in 2025. In the United States the car continues to be sold from stock after the Bureau of Industry and Security declined Polestar an authorisation under the Connected Vehicle Rule for model year 2027 onwards.
Key facts
| Name in Chinese | 极星4 “JEE-shing SUH” 极星 means "pole star" (极 'pole, extreme' + 星 'star'), a translation of the brand name; 4 is read 四 (sì) |
|---|---|
| Brand | Polestar |
| Body | Crossover, segment D |
| Powertrain | Battery-electric |
| Launched | China 2023; export 2024 |
| Platform | Geely SEA (Sustainable Experience Architecture) |
| Headline output | 400 kW |
| Battery | 102 kWh |
| Dimensions | 4,839 × 2,008 × 1,544 mm, wheelbase 2,999 mm |
What it is called where
The same car carries different names in different markets. This is the crosswalk, so a reader who knows one name can find the other.
| Market | Name | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Export markets | Polestar 4 | renamed Polestar 4 coupé once the SUV variant arrived |
| Export markets | Polestar 4 SUV | second body style launched 2 September 2026, with a rear window and conventional rear-view mirror |
| China | 极星4 (Jíxīng Sì) |
Range
| Range | Cycle | Variant |
|---|---|---|
| 619 km WLTP | WLTP | coupé, up to 385 miles, Polestar UK 2026 |
| 499 km EPA | EPA | coupé, up to 310 miles, Polestar US 2026 |
| 630 km (manufacturer figure, cycle not stated) | manufacturer figure, cycle not stated | Polestar 4 SUV, figure quoted in Polestar's launch release of 2 September 2026 |
Price
| Where | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| United States starting price for the Polestar 4 coupé on polestar.com | USD 56,400 as of | |
| United Kingdom cash starting price for the Polestar 4 coupé | GBP 56,750 as of | |
| starting price for the Polestar 4 SUV quoted at its launch | EUR 57,900 as of |
Where the Polestar 4 is sold
| Market | Status | Since | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | Sold | 2024 | US cars are built in Busan, South Korea, which Polestar says carries a lower US tariff; Polestar said on 25 June 2026 it will sell remaining US stock after regulators declined an authorisation for model year 2027 |
| South Korea | Sold | 2025 | Busan output is dedicated to Europe, the United States and the domestic South Korean market |
| United Kingdom | Sold | 2024 | |
| Sweden | Sold | 2024 | |
| Germany | Sold | 2024 | |
| China | Sold | 2023 | |
| Australia | Sold | November 2024 | ANCAP records the car on sale in Australia from November 2024 |
Crash-test results
Quoted from the testing bodies. This site does not rate cars itself.
| Body | Year | Stars | Result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Euro NCAP | 2025 | 5 | Read the Euro NCAP result |
| ANCAP | 2025 | 5 | Read the ANCAP result |
Polestar Polestar 4: questions people ask
- Where is the Polestar 4 built?
- At Geely's Hangzhou Bay plant in China since the second half of 2023, and at Renault Korea Motors' plant in Busan, South Korea since the second half of 2025. The Polestar 4 SUV launched in September 2026 is built only in Busan.
- Is the Polestar 4 sold in the United States made in China?
- US cars are the Korean-built ones. Polestar's annual report says Busan output is dedicated to Europe, the United States and South Korea, and notes the lower US tariff those cars attract.
- What is the difference between the Polestar 4 coupé and the Polestar 4 SUV?
- The SUV, launched on 2 September 2026, has a straighter roofline, an upright tailgate, a rear window and a conventional rear-view mirror as standard, plus 2.5 cm more rear headroom and 1,665 litres of luggage space.
- What is the Polestar 4's range?
- Polestar quotes up to 385 miles (619 km) WLTP in the United Kingdom and up to 310 miles (499 km) EPA in the United States for the coupé; the SUV was announced with up to 630 km.
- How much does the Polestar 4 cost?
- USD 56,400 in the United States, GBP 56,750 in the United Kingdom, and EUR 57,900 for the SUV variant in mainland Europe (checked 4 September 2026).
Related
Sources for the Polestar Polestar 4
- Polestar Automotive Holding UK PLC (SEC EDGAR), Form 20-F for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. Read . filed 17 April 2026; plant table, Hangzhou Bay and Busan plant descriptions, Geely's 35 per cent holding in Renault Korea, market dedication and the US tariff comment
- Polestar, Polestar launches Polestar 4 SUV: expanded versatility, uncompromised performance. Read . 2 September 2026; Busan production start for the SUV, EUR 57,900 starting price, up to 630 km range, 1,665 litres of luggage space
- Polestar, Polestar strengthens its focus on Europe following decision under the U.S. Connected Vehicle Rule. Read . 25 June 2026
- Polestar UK, Polestar 4. Read . UK cash price, WLTP range and output
- Polestar USA, Polestar 4. Read . US MSRP, EPA range and output
- Euro NCAP, Polestar 4 safety rating. Read . 5 stars, 2025
- ANCAP, Polestar 4 safety rating. Read . 5 stars, tested 2025; 92/87/81/79 per cent; on sale in Australia from November 2024
- Wikipedia, Polestar 4. Read . finding aid; cited here for dimensions and battery size